Cadence for Decades

image

Minutes before today began, I finished this, thinking, ‘#ShouldveListenedToTaj.’ Those who know me know that I rarely sleep, but my LOARWD. This is the [only] Trap music I needed all along, after all. I mean, Future’s nice; and Ferg is nice; but Denzel Curry?! I need a shake-up never mind a wake-up. This album got some trap excellence. I can’t say I’ve heard anything like it yet. Plus, dude’s already got one of my favourite voices. The way he delivers the words is so ill and gives each word a purposeful life to live on. If this is how he’s been going on for THREE YEARS… Then I’m just disgusted in myself for letting it take this long time that it has. Great introduction for me to him as an artist for sure; and I’m definitely going back to his catalogue archive. Imperial is already a very strong contender for AOTY along with Bas’ Too High To Riot. Can’t wait to play this some more.

On another note, though… Harry Fraud still dropping these heavy beats for Curren$y and Smoke DZA, whose EP, He Has Risen, is super smooth if you want something with good beats and to listen to if you’re planning to pass half an hour or so. Plus Snoop is pulling verses out his ass these days; and not that bullshit, just phownky [shit]. More than worth peeping it!

Also, gotta rate the new Kano, with his fifth LP, Made In The Manor. Glad he put “Flow of the Year” on – even if it was only a bonus. It’s just serious respect to a guy such as himself, who kept true to those [British] “roots” whilst a lot of the guys at the front wandered off and wasted away their time they could have used to build a legacy, chasing after the approval elsewhere. No disrespect to them, since, clearly they know that now 👀. What’s incredible about him, the way I see it, is that he, even as a pioneer himself, recognises and isn’t shy to pay homage to the Reggae; to the Garage scene; the 2-Step; the Jungle; and just as well: the Grime scene – refusing to ignore Wiley, Dizzee, etc. He’s clearly humble, though one of the most skilled and equipped I’ve seen, from “P’s & Q’s” to “Nite Nite” and then “This Is The Girl” to “Raver…” he’s obviously just versatile with the sound.

~ LSNCLR

Leave a Reply

