When Nap[zzzz] turn to Sleep[ZZZZ]

No coochie, No start to the last season of Friday Night Lights, forgot to wrap my hair up. [That happened all] since my ass decided to SLEEP through my Friday night at 7-ish last night and not two-hour nap, I’m just now writing this (which was meant to just be the sharing of one song). But of course, as mentioned, that ship sailed, though, due to my body demanding rest. Fortunately, meant that this morning I woke up with an idea to do a new series every Friday, called #FourForFridayNight; just a small initiative to share the music I like and that I feel deserves the praise. So rather than look at it as ‘Friday night plans wrecked,’ I’ll call it ‘Saturday morning so glorious’… for once.

Anyway, straight into the music first.

BJ — though I wish he’d change the name sometimes — is like one of the modern R&B’s Donell Jones’, the way I see it; and I think is an artist who I’d put in the same realm as Big K.R.I.T, as they share the same synonym; meaning somebody who I believe puts out some of the greatest music right now, but won’t go to that next [commercial] level – I’m saying though, they don’t need to… Yafeee’me? Maybe that’s just me being a little selfish because I only care for the wonderful music that I find much pleasure in hearing. I mean, sure, I wouldn’t imagine there be many of these artists who have a goal and be like, ‘Well, I only want my art to reach minimal amount of people.’ which, right there, I could be wrong. What if maybe they just want to make the art and put it out for whoever to see; and for it to hit whoever it needs to connect with at given time? I’d imagine that, at this stage in somebody like KRIT’s career, not that he doesn’t care about the success… but he’d have reached some higher tier of it by now with the such music he’s creating; not to say that he can’t and won’t in the future, but in this age of the music industry where art comes last in formula for that “commercial success,” bar the likes of J. Cole, Kendrick Lamar, Kanye West, Rihanna (more recently) it seems unlikely, but that’s ok when music is all that matters. Like, ‘What are the numbers really anyway,’ one of my favourite notions as of the past month or so. I could suggest the hell out of BJ’s music, but honestly… in your own time. You either heard me, or you didn’t. I can shake you, but you’ll wake when you feel like it. Don’t blame me if you’re late for “work, work, work, work, work, work.” For all Hip-Hop/R&B ‘heads out there, I must say… Even [at least one of] your favourite artists probably wants a feature from him. Do you like Busta Rhymes’, Donnie Trumpet & The Social Experiment’s, Dr. Dre’s, Jill Scott’s, Joey Bada$$’, Kehlani’s, Omarion’s, ScHoolboy Q’s and/or Slum Village’s music? Well, they seem to like BJ’s, having that they got verses and hooks fresh from him. The likes of Ab-Soul, Big K.R.I.T, Casey Veggies, Daz Dillinger, Jay Rock, Kanye West, Kendrick Lamar, Rapsody, Vic Mensa, and Warren G had him on their shit from early (if you wanna call it that). So, “C’mon, son.” *GFK voice.* I’m ’bout to listen to his new album, In My Mind, this weekend, Q’s well as getting round to all his older material in the futurary.

Onto BAS! Bassy Badass. FIENDS. This guy is just on another high right now, and it’s super to see his growth from me hearing him first on his song, “The Season” back in 2012, I believe to now, as it’s nearing towards his second studio album, Too High To Riot. I can state the obvious and talk about how Bas has been so consistent between the first mixtape, Quarter Raised Me Vol. I, and Last Winter, if talking in regards to the projects, and of course the features as he hopped on songs with his fellow Dreamville ‘mates and brought constant vibes – but let me just speak on his sound. The VIBE on the track I posted above – please, just let it sink in… and *Khaled voice* you tell me right now – who else!? Who else got a sound like Bas, along with the flow? I mean, kick me if I don’t get around enough on Soundcloud (if this was “lazy” 2011-2013 me, I’d have known enough to call it… I ain’t got that credibility as much now haha). That’s all I’ll shout for now. I’m THTR. If you ever get the chance to, though, go see Bas live. He could honestly just perform ‘tape cuts and you’d “feel the buzz.”

MAJID fucking JORDAN. Man, they’ve blessed us with some jiggyliggy dance music on this new self-titled album. Not to undersell them and say they’re not exceptional, since I do hear the sonic resemblance to music from Disclosure and AlunaGeorge (again, Soundcloud users, don’t come at me for not knowing enough about underground future / ‘new wave’ beats – I can only speak what I know and continue to keep educating myself | though I’d believe if these sounds are only just now being achieved then we’re witnessing something special in music of today, as it’s rare to find the/that pure, untouched, un-hopped on originality on mainstream surface, i.e. the “bandwagoners” and “cultchvultches”). Hopefully it doesn’t become a case where they blow up and Drake rides their wave, being the leader of OVO Sound (what sound without 40, though? sorry Drizzy, my word doesn’t make a difference anyways, lmao).

Last guy, I honestly know pluto about. But, 3Mo [you] put me onto a potential R&B gem (DROPPETH, DROPPETH!); one who, if proven to keep showing & proving, can join my list of the baddest current R&B artists – not much has changed, but right now, it’s Anderson .Paak, Alessia Cara, Ariana Grande (when she pronounces her words clearly – double entendre; if you know you know) August Alsina, BJ (of course), Bryson Tiller (if he can continue to prove), Chrisette Michele, Eric Bellinger (please, don’t fall for the generic sound, dawg – you’re too good for that) James Fauntleroy, Janelle Monae, Jeremih, Jhené Aiko, Jidenna, JoJo, Justin Bieber (yes, even R&B-infused Pop music counts to me!) Leon Bridges, Mack Wilds, Miguel, Paloma Faith, Selah Sue, The Internet, Tinashe, Tori Kelly, Tory Lanez (stepped it up), Ty Dolla $ign, Victoria Monet. ELLE VEEZY, ELIJAH BLAKE, JESSIE WARE, MELANIEN FIONA, where art thou!? [The likes of] Anthony Hamilton and John Legend can both still come through on features when they want, of course – but that’s legends I’m speaking of right there, now. And then you’ve got D’Angelo, Jazmine Sullivan, etc. still somewhat active and going, not to write them out as “old and dusty” as some may regard or refer to them. Artists are artists, and if they’re good you gotta give it up to them. R&B, as I said it, is still well. Please don’t dare say it’s dead when you’ve got BJ out here like it’s the 2016-90s, then Miguel like it’s the 2016-80s. Stop fooling the place.

Enjoy the music!

Enjoy your weekend!

LSNCLR

Leave a Reply

